Tags

The Kid went away this week on a school field trip, and I guess I didn’t write much because I was actually spending time with KPD, which is a nice thing to do once in a while.

But even though we took advantage of the time together to watch some TV shows the Kid isn’t into and even go on a date to a Broadway show (Falsettos: go see it if you can!), I missed her like crazy and I’m so glad she’s back.

I really do believe it’s important for kids to go places without their parents, and this was a trip to a farm, which taught the Kid a lot (she’s now grossed out by eggs and milk) but that doesn’t mean I have to enjoy it. Life just isn’t right when we’re not all together, and the thing is, I really like her. I mean, sure, she’s of an age where she can be annoying and rude sometimes, but she’s also of an age where she’s starting to be really funny. She’s starting to take an interest in things and have real conversations about them. She’s learning about the world and forming opinions about the news. It’s a really exciting time to be a parent and I can’t wait to find out what she’s going to do next.

Of course I want her to go out into the world and have adventures. I just hope she always feels like coming home is important too. Because she’s an awesome person, and I really, really like having her around.

