Tags

,

I’ve never been much of a Judd Apatow. His sense of humor just doesn’t really do it for me. And a bunch of his stuff is pretty sexist.

Whenever I say that, I get one reply, “But…Freaks and Geeks!” And up until now, I’ve had to say that I couldn’t speak to that because I hadn’t seen it. But last week we decided to give it a try.

I have to say, it’s pretty good. The Kid is amused that it, like Glee, takes place at McKinley High School (do all the losers go to McKinley because he was a terrible president?) I’m amused watching Jason Segel and James Franco just starting out, and I think KPD is reliving his childhood. Okay, he didn’t get to high school until 1985, but it’s close enough.

Actually, I’m also having fun seeing the 8-tracks and the 80’s style cameras and discussions of Three’s Company. And Millie and I have a lot in common, sadly.

After Freaks and Geeks, we’re going to watch Galavant. A musical about knights featuring Timothy Omundson? It’s like it was made to order for the Kid. All hail Netflix.

