Tags

, ,

“I don’t want to do it right now,” came a shout from upstairs. I had just walked in the door from work, so I assumed the Kid was talking to KPD, and I had walked in on the middle of a conversation. I was wrong.

“Hi,” I called up the stairs.

“What are you doing here?” Came the reply.

“I live here.”

“No, you don’t.”

Well, this was interesting. KPD came over to give me a kiss hello, and explained that the Kid had been waiting all day to make cookies with me. The penny dropped. “Ah. She doesn’t want to do it right now,” I told him.

The Kid is a little bit nervous about starting Middle School in the fall, so we got her a math tutor for the summer. At first, she was resistant to the idea of doing math in the summer, but evidently the Teacher KPD hired is excellent, because the Kid took an immediate liking to her and hasn’t complained since the tutoring actually started.

On the first day of tutoring, when I got home from work, the Kid said, “I saw a DIY video about making pi cookies for Pi Day, and I want to make them for my tutor.”

“What a great idea,” I replied. “But why not wait and do it at the end of the summer, as a thank-you present?”

The Kid liked that idea, and we didn’t really talk about it again until this weekend, when the Kid said, “We have to make the pi cookies on Tuesday, because Wednesday is my last tutoring session. Will you be home on Tuesday?”

“I’ll be home after work,” I said. “Plenty of time to make cookies.”

The time had arrived, so we convinced her to come down and make the cookies. I really just helped with mixing them up, then left the Kid to cut them and put them on trays. She handled the rest except for putting them in and out of the oven. The Kid looked up images of pi so that she could choose a font that worked with the icing we had. She pulled out all the sprinkles she could find in the cabinet. When the cookies were cool, the Kid decorated them herself, and I’m really impressed with the result. I think her tutor will be really touched.

IMG_3769

