Tags

, ,

The Kid finished writing her paper on The Giver, so we let her watch the movie. Why do they have to ruin every book when they make the movie? Right from the beginning. In the book, Jonas is apprehensive about turning twelve. A big deal is made of him choosing that word to describe what he’s feeling. In the movie, they use a different word. Why? Apprehensive is a great word.

Why isn’t Jonas number nineteen? What possible benefit to the bottom line could there be from changing his number? Even if you feel the need to dramatically increase the size of the Community (why?) he could still be nineteen.

Why make them unable to know the difference between an elephant and a hippo? Isn’t it enough that they’ve never seen a real elephant or hippo? Why change from a pill to an injection? Why make the injection stop dreaming, when talking about dreams is such a big deal in the book? (Though the line about dreams being “a combination of reality, fantasy, emotions and what you had for dinner” is pretty awesome, so I might forgive that one.) I’m going to stop before I spoil something important, but I kind of understand, from a Hollywood perspective, why they changed the important things. I still get frustrated, but I understand they feel the need to ramp up the drama. But why change all the little things too?

I get so frustrated with Hollywood sometimes.

On the plus side, we had a great conversation about the book and the movie, and also about why it’s so important to Chris Colfer that his books be made into movies by the right people, and that he retains creative control. The Kid is excited that there will be a Land of Stories movie someday, and she’s crazy proud of Chris Colfer for insisting that it be done right.

So, keep up the good parenting, nerds. Even when things make you bitchy, there’s a lesson in it. I figure as long as my Kid knows the book is always better, I’m doing something right.

