Tags

So, yeah, it looks like I’m running again. I’ve trained three times so far this week. The first day I walked and danced a bit. The second day I walked, danced, and ran a bit. Then I took a rest day.

Today I walked and ran for 30 minutes, running for about half the distance by walking up one side of the park and running down the other side. I was really worried that I had completely killed my conditioning when I was sick a few weeks ago, but it seems I’m not as bad off as I thought, which is good news.

I AM sore, and I’m taking another rest day tomorrow. I’ll train for 30 minutes again on Thursday, and then plan something for the weekend. I’m not sure what I will do because it’s my nephew’s birthday on Saturday and we’re going to celebrate.

I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to run the same race I ran last year. The Kid is thinking over whether she wants to run it, and I have a friend who might want to run also. And of course I have several friends from the Kid’s school who will be running with the team. Either way, exercising 3-4 times a week for 30 minutes is good for me, so I’m going to keep doing it for a while, now that it’s light a bit later and there’s no ice outside.

And I find I don’t mind running so much when I’m listening to musicals. I listened to all of Something Rotten over my three runs and started Hamilton. I’ve also got Matilda on my phone, and several other cast recordings on CD that I could add to my phone. I think it helps because first of all, dance music gets me moving, and second, following the plot of a musical gives my mind something to do while I’m running. We’ll see how it goes, but I might just be on to something. Maybe. I’m such a drama nerd.

