Tags

I did it!

That's me, right behind the guy who walked into frame. Thanks, guy.

That’s me, right behind the guy who walked into frame. Thanks, guy.

As you can see, I didn’t quite make my goal of 36 minutes. I saw the clock at 36:50 and I ran as hard as I could to beat the clock, but as I’ve said before, I’m not a very good runner.

However, I did it. I ran the whole way, and I finished! After only five weeks of training, too.

As my mother says, it shows you how quickly you can get yourself into some kind of shape. Five weeks ago, I could barely run around the park near my house–3 tenths of a mile. And today I ran 3.1 miles, in the heat, and as you can see, I wasn’t last. I didn’t die.

Kid had a great run. She ran with two of her friends, talked the whole way, accidentally sprinted up a hill, and finished in under 29 minutes.

The best part, for me, was running into the stadium, where Kid and her friends cheered for me. There’s nothing quite like a “Go, Mommy!” to give you a boost. The second best part was running out of the park and seeing my parents there, in a spot I was not expecting a cheering section at all.

In third place comes the many golden doodles along the course. If I had known that runners at this race get to see six or seven golden doodles while they run, I might have tried it sooner.

The question is: Will I run again the day after tomorrow?

