I wanted to make a post about the mother/daughter trip I took with the Kid last week, but I caught a cold at the hotel which has been very draining.

On top of that, we got caught in a snowstorm on the way home from vacation, which caused some extremely stressful driving in my already-compromised condition, and eventually we had to check into a hotel by the highway and come home a day later than planned.

Then, last night at bedtime, the Kid mysteriously cut herself, necessitating a late-night trip to the hospital and five stitches.

The only good thing about this is that it gave me a good excuse to stay home from work and rest, which has helped me heal my cold a bit, but I’m still extremely tired and not up to organizing a vacation post.

So, in the mean time, I give you a list of the questions my child asked during her ER visit.

  • How many stitches will I need?
  • How do they get the stitches through my skin?
  • How can you (the doctor) see what you’re doing if you put that brown stuff (iodine) all over everything?
  • How many times are you going to do that?
  • Why do they need to take the stitches out?

The ER Pediatrician was reluctant to answer these questions, and seemed to want the Kid to be quiet. He kept telling her, “You’ll see.” Perhaps this has worked for him with other children, but it doesn’t work with mine. I said to him, “Kid does better with information.” Then he reluctantly answered some, but not all, of her questions.

I hope that Kid keeps her inquisitive nature and her forcefulness in demanding answers from doctors. It’s the right thing to do, but I know it’s hard when a doctor is trying to shut you up. I hope I was able to show her that what she was doing was right, and the doctor was wrong to keep the answers from her. In the moment, I was just trying to help my terrified Kid relax so she could get the stitches she needed, but that, and the information we need to understand what is being done to our bodies, is what any doctor owes his patients.

Update: 2/25/15 I forgot the best quote from the Kid that night. She asked me, “Did you ever have stitches?

Me: No, I never did.

Kid: How careful WERE you?!

She is the best. Also, she’s recovering nicely.

