Tags

, , ,

This morning I realized that Buffy the Vampire Slayer is now illegal in Russia. Or at least, I’d be violating the law by showing that show to the Kid, because she’s a minor. After some thought, I decided to mention this to the Kid. She was shocked.

Then I started thinking about other things the Kid loves that are illegal in places around the world, or banned by various religions. It’s mostly everything she loves.

  • Bathing suits on girls is illegal in much of the Middle East
  • Harry Potter, Sabrina the Teenage Witch and Buffy all include witchcraft, which is banned by some fundamentalist Christians
  • Star Trek includes lots of women wearing trousers and being bossy, miscegenation (inter-species marriages, even), and a general sense that everyone should have equal rights
  • Her school is run by two women who wear trousers and work, even though they have husbands and children.
  • Co-ed swimming

“Wow,” I said. “If we’re not careful, you’re going to end up a trouble maker like that Emma Watson!” Kid smiled, proud at the association, and went to school.

Updated 9/24/14: This just came to my attention. If you don’t believe that Evangelist Christians hate all the things my Kid loves, click here. Oh, and KPD cooks almost every night at our house–another sin of ours.

