This is the first full week of school, the first full week of swimming, the first week of Religious School, and aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh!

I feel so overwhelmed. I know it will pass–we’ll get the hang of the Kid’s new schedule. She’ll get back into the swing of school, and her body will adjust to training. But this beginning piece is so hard.

One of the things that’s so hard about parenting is that your kid wants to do something, and you have to figure out how to get it done. And it’s not even something she necessarily wants you to have any part in, that’s just what the job is. It starts before they can even talk. At that point, the main challenge is figuring out what it is that they want. At age almost eleven it’s mostly logistics. How to get her where she needs to be to get done what needs doing. How to fit everything into limited time. What needs to give.

I guess part of my frustration is that right now what’s giving is my stuff. Nothing really important–I’m going to work and sleeping and eating and I still have my dog club and some time with KPD. But all the little things. I want to go to the Climate Change March on Sunday, but it’s the Kid’s first day of 6:30AM practice and she has Religious School and there’s a school BBQ, so I don’t think that will happen. Our evening schedule is completely disrupted by swim practice three days per week.

This is turning into a rant, and that isn’t my point. My point is that the beginning of the school year isn’t just stressful for kids. As parents, we have a lot to figure out, and it tends to change every year as our kids change. And there’s no such thing as a ten year old taking responsibility for something. When she takes something on, we all take it on. So be nice to any parents of school-age children you might know.

On a cheerier note, there’s a cat on my lap. That’s not a bad thing at all.

