Tags

,

I forgot how awesome Super-Willow is. We just finished watching season 6 of Buffy and I remember how amazing it was the first time watching Willow raise a Temple out of the ground, and watching Xander reach her with his love. And then I watched my Kid find out that what Spike wanted all along was his soul back so he could really love Buffy.

I’m having a strange sensation, though. I’m not sure if it’s because I’ve seen these episodes already, or if it’s because I’m older, or because I tend to play on my computer while I’m watching, or because we watch two or three episodes per night, but I find myself less connected emotionally to what is going on than i was when the shows first aired. (Except for the one where Buffy’s mom died. Oh. My. God.)

I can remember how I felt when I watched these episodes before, but I don’t really feel the same way now. And I don’t think the Kid is experiencing the episodes the same way, either. Of course, I was nearly 30 when these episodes aired and she’s 10, so there’s that. And the Kid is generally less moved by TV and movies than I am. She’s less scared and I don’t think I’ve ever seen a movie or book make her cry. We don’t watch a whole lot of sad stuff, but I remember being younger than she is now when I sobbed and sobbed at the end of Charlotte’s Web. Kid didn’t even cry at the end of the 5th Harry Potter movie.

I do think she’s invested in the Buffy/Spike storyline, though. 

As a parent, I’m psyched that she gets to watch so many tough women. In this episode, Xander is the real hero, but Buffy, Anya, Willow and Dawn are all forces to be reckoned with, for good or evil. Four distinct forces to be reckoned with, too, which is especially nice. So often we see one version of female power. Here, Whedon gives us the Slayer, a mega-witch, a vengeance demon (mega-powerful, but limited by rules) and a young human girl coming into her own. Nicely done, Joss. Very nicely done. 

