I never liked games. I’m a sore loser, and I was never great at strategy. I did get into cribbage for a while and I used to play with KidProjectDad (we’ll call him KPD from now on) when we were first married, but I never was very into games to play with the Kid. We had Candy Land and a billion memory games, but it wasn’t a major pursuit.

Then I learned about TableTop. You may have noticed that I’m a bit of a Wil Wheaton fan. I checked out his new internet show and got hooked on gaming. Now, we play Pandemic, Munchkin, Fluxx, Settlers of Catan, Ticket to Ride and so many more. Friends ask me for advice about games, they borrow my games–I’ve become a gamer.

And all of this has been great for the Kid. She’s learned each game and now has skills for learning a new game, which I hadn’t realized is its own skill set. She has her preferences and her dislikes. She practices games until she can win. She’s a force to be reckoned with. And meanwhile, she’s practicing math, and storytelling, and sportsmanship, and turn-taking, and sharing and cooperation and lots of other skills, and having a great time doing it.

Once again, the nerds win. Games are a great family activity, and nerds have the best games.

